PDA

View Full Version : Getting gears, what do I need?

scooter3
03-01-10, 07:44 AM
Finally getting around to getting gears, but what exactly do I need other then the gear set? Install kit or full bearing kit? Oil, friction modifier? The car only has 24,000 miles so I was not sure if the full bearing kit was necessary or just the install kit.

Thanks in advance!

Stanger00
03-01-10, 11:54 AM
I just dropped my car off at AZ Differential. They did everything for me when I had my rear end rebuilt.

When I first had mine installed I did a master bearing kit since my car had 50k miles. I also got the master bearing kit because the gears I bought didnt come with a shim kit. I suggest buying FRPP since they come with shims.

Stock trak-loks require friction modifier and it should be listed in your owners manual.

BurnTire
03-01-10, 04:48 PM
Finally getting around to getting gears, but what exactly do I need other then the gear set? Install kit or full bearing kit? Oil, friction modifier? The car only has 24,000 miles so I was not sure if the full bearing kit was necessary or just the install kit.

Thanks in advance!

24K isn't a ton of miles, but I would still do the full install kit as it isn't that much more money.
Many lubes have friction modifier added. Check the brand to determine if it has friction modifier built into the lube.

SloSVO
03-01-10, 11:21 PM
are you doing the gear install yourself? most shops want you to replace everything so there are no issues later.. I've changed just the ring and pinion only on my nd friends cars and had no issues.. but for peace of mind...

trucker
03-02-10, 01:32 AM
just take it to AZ Differential and let them take care of it all they do is rear ends Nate or Henery are great to deal with and they stand behind there work

BurnTire
03-02-10, 02:23 PM
This is an alignment bar in my rear end after AZ Differential supposedly straighted it out.
They had my rear end for a few weeks and failed big time.