PDA

View Full Version : attention electrical gurus/semi gurus!

1966PonyGirl
10-28-08, 02:57 PM
I have been trying to figure out the mystery of why my car has died while i am driving. I have been studying wiring diagrams for 1966 mustang and tested like crazy. From the tests, i found that there isnt any power coming from the wire (wire 16) that leads from the positive terminal on the coil to the ignition switch. i repaired the wire and she still wont turn over. I am now looking under the dash see and see this wire. it just so happens that it leads to the ignition switch. it's been splice a few times and is connected to this intresting plastic set up.

my question is what the heck is this plactic thing?!?!
http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i122/annearrow/Molly%20Nacoma%20Edelbrock/wtfisthis.jpg

BurnTire
10-28-08, 03:02 PM
Looks like an in-line fuse. If there is an electrical jolt it will prevent damage down-line.
Does the fuse look blown/damaged?

1966PonyGirl
10-28-08, 03:35 PM
yes! it looks horrible! its warped and bubbled! do you suppose this part can be picked up at ace hardware?

BurnTire
10-28-08, 03:38 PM
I would take it apart. The wires should crimp into each side. Stop by a napa or autozone and see if they have a replacment.

1966PonyGirl
10-28-08, 03:40 PM
thank you! if this fixes my headache i owe you one!!!!!!!

BurnTire
10-28-08, 03:42 PM
If you want to be sure just test the current from one side inline fuse to the other. Form where the wire crimps on on side to the other. Or just poke a needle into each side orange wire before and after the fuse for test points.

ttocs
10-28-08, 04:00 PM
yea that doesn't look good, infact it even looks bad. Wally world even sells good replacements now or else any car audio dealer would stock a good replacement. That could easily be your problem.........

BurnTire
10-28-08, 04:10 PM
Yea an audio shop may be a good place.

1966PonyGirl
10-28-08, 04:19 PM