PDA

View Full Version : Classic Question...

AZSonicSnake
11-10-08, 09:33 PM
ok, so the wife and i are shopping for a 64-66 stang. not looking for anything crazy, just want to find a nice coupe, preferably with the 289 and an automatic.

now, the reason for my post.

we have found a nice 66, the interior has been redone, and the body has been repainted the original white. but, it has a 302 in it. which from my understanding did not come in the stang till 1968. i am a newb at the classic stang, so please excuse me if i am incorrect on this one. how does this affect the value of the car? the seller is looking to get 6500 for the car. i initially thought this was a good price, if it had the 289. how does this really effect the value though? just looking for some advice, i really don't want to get in over my head and cost myself big on the wrong car.

also, if anyone knows of someone selling a decent 64-66 stang, please let me know. our budget is 4-6k. from what i am looking at it should not be a big issue.

thought i would mention, this is not a car we are looking for to replace the cobra or anything of the like. the wife really wants a classic to drive the mile she has to drive to work, and have a nice classic to take out on the weekends.

Rev'n Kevin
11-11-08, 12:20 AM
A common swap out on those years, best thing to do is get the vin number, then google a mustang vin decoder, plenty of them on the net, and that will tell you everything about what the car came as. Good luck, I'm looking at a 65 coupe right now myself.

HIKER
11-11-08, 01:20 PM
If the car is going to be a daily driver and you're not interested in restoring to original condition it shouldn't matter. If you're going to customize the engine compartment with aftermarket accessories...289 or 302 is no big deal.

But if you want something all original or want to bring this one back to all original...find one with a 289...